appellation photo
Château Grand Escalion

Costières de Nîmes

Appellation d'origine protégée

The Château Grand Escalion, built in 1884, is one of the prestigious estates of Maison Gabriel Meffre. The property is located on the commune of Générac, South of the Roman city of Nîmes and includes 44ha (100 acres) of Costières de Nîmes AOP and varietally-designated vineyards. The property is managed under the “Terra Vitis” Sustainable Agriculture practices aimed at respecting the terroir, the vines and the people. In additon, the Domaine uses only organic fertilizers.

Costiere de Nimes
couleur
2017
description_recompenses
Weather conditions in 2017 were marked by high temperatures and a lack of rainfall disturbing the flowering process. The spring and summer heatwave resulted in a rapid evolution of sugar in the grapes without the maturity of tannins and anthocyanins being simultaneously acheived. Patience was therefore required to obtain a perfect phenolic maturity! The harvest was, however, particularly early and started on August 23rd. A great vigilance in the cellar associated with the quality of our terroirs, which have generally well resisted to the extreme conditions of this year, deliver here a nice vintage for the third year running.
etiquette
Costières de Nîmes
Vintage
2017

Grape Varieties: 

37% Grenache

37% Syrah

26% Mourvèdre

Terroir: 

For this vintage, the Syrah grapes come from a plot of 1984 located on pebble soil; the Grenache grapes were harvested on clayey soils directly surrounding the estate. These offering deepest soils, the vines grow in the most favorable water conditions. All Mourvèdres from the estate were harvested for this vintage.

Winemaking: 

The grapes were harvested early at "cool" temperatures, at night and very early in the morning to preserve their aromatic richness. The clear must, obtained by direct pressing followed by a 48h cold settling, is then fermented at low temperature between 13 and 15°C. In 2017, the contribution of Mourvèdre in the blend produces a balanced wine combining sweetness and freshness. 4 months aging in vats.
Bottled in January 2018.
21,500 bottles produced.

Service & food pairing suggestions: 

Enjoy between 10 and 12 ° C, within 3 years.

ABV: 13%


Languedoc cod brandade
Grilled Bouzigues shells

Age of vines & yield: 

19 years on average

The 44ha of the vineyard extend on gentle slopes that give their name to the estate. “Escalion” means “slope” in provençal language.

Envoyer à un ami

Message d'erreur

Deprecated function : Methods with the same name as their class will not be constructors in a future version of PHP; mPDF has a deprecated constructor dans include_once() (ligne 38 dans /homepages/32/d375170435/htdocs/GM_Website/sites/all/modules/print/print_pdf/lib_handlers/print_pdf_mpdf/print_pdf_mpdf.module).
appellation photo
Château Grand Escalion

Costières de Nîmes

Appellation d'origine protégée

Le rosé du Château Grand Escalion est un vin de gastronomie frais et généreux. Son assemblage de Grenache et Syrah issues de jeunes vignes et d'une parcelle plus ancienne de Syrah, permet d'allier fraîcheur et rondeur pour faire de ce rosé un grand Costières de Nîmes.

Costiere de Nimes
couleur
2017
description_recompenses
Les conditions météorologiques de l’année 2017 ont été marquées par des températures élevées et une absence de pluviométrie. La floraison en a été perturbée. La canicule printanière et estivale a entraîné l’évolution rapide des sucres dans les raisins sans que la maturité des tanins et des anthocyanes soient simultanément au rendez-vous. La patience a donc été de rigueur afin d’obtenir une maturité phénolique parfaite ! Les vendanges ont, malgré tout, été particulièrement précoces et ont débutées dès le 23 août. Une grande vigilance en cave associée à la qualité de nos terroirs qui ont globalement mieux résisté aux conditions extrèmes de cette année, nous délivrent ici un joli millésime pour la troisième année consécutive.
etiquette
Costières de Nîmes
millésime
2017

Cépages: 

37% Grenache

37% Syrah

26% Mourvèdre

Terroir: 

Pour ce millésime, la Syrah provient d'une parcelle de 1984 située sur la zone de galets roulés ; les Grenaches ont été récoltés sur la partie argileuse qui entoure directement le domaine. Celles-ci possédant les sols les plus profonds, les vignes sont dans les conditions hydriques les plus favorables. L'ensemble des Mourvèdres du domaine ont été récoltés pour cette cuvée.

Vinification: 

Les raisins ont été vendangés précocement à des températures "fraîches", la nuit et très tôt le matin afin de préserver leur richesse aromatique. Les moûts limpides, obtenus par pressurage direct suivi d'un débourbage à froid de 48h, fermentent ensuite à basse température entre 13 et 15°C. En 2017, l’apport de Mourvèdre dans l’assemblage produit un vin équilibré conjuguant gourmandise et fraîcheur. Elevage de 4 mois en cuve.
Mis en bouteille en janvier 2018.
21 500 bouteilles produites.

Service & accords: 

A déguster entre 10 et 12°C, dans les 3 ans.

13%

 

Brandade de morue languedocienne

Coquillages de bouzigues à la plancha

Age des vignes & rendement: 

19 ans en moyenne

Les 44 hectares du vignoble s’étendent en pentes douces. Le Château leur doit son nom car «Escalion» signifie «montée» en provençal.

Envoyer à un ami

 
1 Début 2 Terminé