appellation photo
Château Grand Escalion

Costières de Nîmes

Appellation d'origine protégée

The Château Grand Escalion rosé is a fresh and generous wine of gastronomy. Its blend of Grenache and Syrah from young vines and an older parcel of Syrah, allows to combine freshness and roundness to make this rosé a great Costières de Nîmes.

Costiere de Nimes
couleur
2018
description_recompenses
Autumn was exceptionally dry. Spring reversed the trend with a significant accumulation of rain between April and June. The Summer months of 2018 were marked by sustained high temperatures yet with the water reserves accumulated during Spring, the vegetative cycle progressed without stress.  A light storm on August 10th brought a welcome rainfall and the ripening process completed without incident. The harvest was carried out under dry conditions and was finished before the late September rains arrived.

 

Rewards

BRONZE Concours des vins de Mâcon

etiquette
Costières de Nîmes
Vintage
2018

Grape Varieties: 

66% Grenache
34% Syrah

Terroir: 

For this vintage, Grenaches come from silty-clay slopes covered with pebbles and the Syrah grapes were harvested on clay-ride soils directly surrounding the estate

Winemaking: 

 To favour aromatic freshness and vivacity, the grapes were harvested during the early hours of the day when temperatures were at their coolest. The clear must, obtained by direct pressing followed by a 48h cold settling, is then fermented at low temperature under 14°C.
Bottled on Decembre 13, 2018.
33 000 bottles produced.
 
Vegan Friendly.

Tasting notes: 

This vintage has a very bright freshness highlighted by aromas of red fruits and citrus.

Service & food pairing suggestions: 

Serve between 10 and 12°C, within 3 years of age.
13%
Tian of Provencal vegetables
Cod fillets and crushed tomatoes with coriander

Age of vines & yield: 

19 years

The 44ha of the vineyard extend on gentle slopes that give their name to the estate. “Escalion” means “slope” in provençal language.

Envoyer à un ami

appellation photo
Château Grand Escalion

Costières de Nîmes

Appellation d'origine protégée

Le rosé du Château Grand Escalion est un vin de gastronomie frais et généreux. Son assemblage de Grenache et Syrah issues de jeunes vignes et d'une parcelle plus ancienne de Syrah, permet d'allier fraîcheur et rondeur pour faire de ce rosé un grand Costières de Nîmes.

Costiere de Nimes
couleur
2018
description_recompenses

L'automne a été exceptionnellement sec. Le printemps a inversé la tendance avec un cumul important de pluies d'avril à juin. L'été 2018 a été à nouveau marqué par des températures soutenues qui, couplées aux réserves en eau, ont permis au cycle végétatif de se clore sans stress. Un orage au 10 août a apporté les conditions optimales pour atteindre  la maturité. Les vendanges ont été réalisées dans des conditions parfaites et tous les raisins ont été rentrés avant les premières pluies.

 

etiquette
Costières de Nîmes
millésime
2018

Cépages: 

66% Grenache

34% Syrah

Terroir: 

Pour ce millésime, les Grenaches proviennent de côteaux limono-argileux recouverts de galets roulés et les Syrahs ont été récoltés sur la partie argileuse qui entoure directement le domaine.

Vinification: 

Les raisins ont été vendangés  à des températures "fraîches", la nuit et très tôt le matin afin de préserver leur richesse aromatique. Les moûts limpides, obtenus par pressurage direct suivi d'un débourbage à froid de 48h, fermentent ensuite à basse température, inférieure à 14°C.
Mis en bouteille le 13 décembre 2018.
33 000 bouteilles produites.

Note de dégustation: 

Ce millésime présente une très belle fraîcheur, soulignée ici par des arômes de fruits rouges et d'agrumes.

Service & accords: 

A déguster entre 10 et 12°C, dans les 3 ans.

13%

Tian de légumes à la provençale

Filets de cabillaud et concassée de tomates à la coriandre

Age des vignes & rendement: 

19 ans en moyenne

Les 44 hectares du vignoble s’étendent en pentes douces. Le Château leur doit son nom car «Escalion» signifie «montée» en provençal.

Envoyer à un ami