appellation photo
Gabriel Meffre

Côtes de Provence

Appellation d'origine protégée

Located around the base of the Mont Sainte Victoire, East from the lovely city of Aix en Provence, the vines are protected from the Mistral wind and harsh winter conditions. They grow in a privileged environment to give a very elegant and expressive rosé.

couleur
2018
description_recompenses

2018 was atypical in many ways. This vintage required a constant presence from the vineyards to the cellar. After a mild Winter, the wet and rainy Spring gave way to a beautiful Summer, favoring a perfect growth of the grapes. September then ushered in an Indian Summer that proved to be more than ideal for harvests with cool nights and warm & sunny days. The grapes were harvested for a total of 8 weeks at optimal maturity and under ideal climatic conditons. The result is an elegant vintage with a particularly aromatic profile and a superb balance.

Rewards

90   The Wine Advocate - Robert Parker

etiquette
Côtes de Provence
Vintage
2018

Grape Varieties: 

Grenache

Syrah

Cinsault

Terroir: 

The vines are located at the base of the Mont Sainte Victoire, East of the city of Aix en Provence. This imposing mountain protects them from the Mistral wind and harsh winter conditions.

The vines grow on calcareous & sandstone soils,  on "espaliers" or terraces. They benefit from a Mediterranean climate, tempered by an altitude of 300 meters.

Winemaking: 

Harvested in the cool morning hours while the grapes were still fresh. Each grape variety was vinified individually at low temperature to favour lively floral and fruity aromas. Short pre-fermentation soak (appx. 4 hours). Juices were racked off, blended and fermented. Bottled at the beginning of the year to preserve freshness & fruit aromas.
 
Vegan Friendly.

Tasting notes: 

Delicate « powder pink » colour. Very expressive nose of redcurrant and pink grapefruit. Full-flavoured yet, brisk and fresh with mineral notes on the finish.

Service & food pairing suggestions: 

Serve at 10 - 12°C

Food pairing suggestions : on its own for as an apéritif and for summer lunchs, salads, grilled meats or fish, fresh vegetables, Mediterranean or Asian cuisine

 

Gabriel Meffre's history is intimately bound to wines of Provence as he has been the owner of a domaine in the Côtes de Provence since 1969. Afterward, the Gabriel Meffre winery has always proposed Côtes de Provence rosé, as a complement to its mainly red wines from the Rhône Valley.

Sainte victoire

Envoyer à un ami

appellation photo
Gabriel Meffre

Côtes de Provence

Appellation d'origine protégée

Situées au pied de la majestueuse Sainte Victoire, les vignes sont protégées du Mistral et des rigueurs de l'hiver. Elles poussent ici dans un environnement privilégié et donnent un rosé délicat et aromatique.

couleur
2018
description_recompenses

Atypique à de nombreux égards, le millésime 2018 a exigé une présence de tous les instants à la vigne comme en cave. Après un hiver doux, le printemps humide et pluvieux a laissé place à un bel été, favorisant la bonne croissance des grappes. Le mois de Septembre, digne d'un été indien, s'est avéré plus qu'idéal pour les vendanges avec des nuits fraîches et des journées chaudes et ensoleillées. Ainsi c'est à maturité optimale et dans d'excellentes conditions. Il en résulte un millésime élégant, au profil particulièrement aromatique et à l'équilibre superbe.

etiquette
Côtes de Provence
millésime
2018

Cépages: 

Grenache majoritaire
Syrah
Cinsault

Terroir: 

Les vignes, au pied de la majestueuse Sainte-Victoire, sont protégées des excès du Mistral et des rigueurs de l’hiver par cette barrière rocheuse. Elles bénéficient d’un climat méditerranéen, tempéré par une altitude d’environ 300 m. Le sol est composé de grès et calcaires argileux dont une partie est en coteaux (restanques).

Vinification: 

Récolte tôt le matin, pour favoriser la fraîcheur des baies. Vinification en cépages séparés et à basse température. Macération préfermentaire à froid pendant environ 4 heures. Soutirage et assemblage des cépages. Mise en bouteille dès le début d'année pour préserver le fruit et le croquant.

Note de dégustation: 

Très belle robe «rose poudré». Le nez est expressif aux notes de groseille et de pamplemousse rose. La bouche est suave, minérale et fraîche.

Service & accords: 

A déguster autour d’un apéritif, de repas d’été, avec des grillades de viandes ou de poissons, des plats à base de crudités ou en accompagnement de saveurs ensoleillées d’une cuisine méditerranéenne, orientale ou asiatique.
A servir frais (entre 10 et 12°C).

L'histoire de Gabriel Meffre est intimement liée aux vins de Provence puisqu'il était propriétaire d'un Château en Côtes de Provence dès 1969. Par la suite, la Maison a toujours élaboré et commercialisé un Côtes de Provence rosé, en complément des vins majoritairement rouges de la Vallée du Rhône.

Sainte victoire

Envoyer à un ami