appellation photo
Château Grand Escalion

Costières de Nîmes

Appellation d'origine protégée

The Château Grand Escalion rosé is a fresh and generous wine of gastronomy. Its blend of Grenache and Syrah from young vines and an older parcel of Syrah, allows to combine freshness and roundness to make this rosé a great Costières de Nîmes.

Costiere de Nimes
couleur
2019
Aromatic concentration
description_recompenses
After a dry spring and heatwave period between June and August, the vine finally adapted well it produced small  but perfect healthy grappes full of aromas. At the end of the summer, there were a few welcomed storms which allowed the berries to reach maturity. The vintage promises to be of good quality with volumes about 10% lower than last year. 
 
Rewards

88/100 - Best Buy - Wine Enthusiast

etiquette
Costières de Nîmes
Vintage
2019

Grape Varieties: 

60% Grenache
40% Syrah

Terroir: 

Grenaches and Syrah came from terroir mainly composed of clay. Those parcels, around the estate, have the deepest soils. As a result, the vines reached their optimal water conditions, ensuring lower degrees, beautiful pale hues and great aromatic freshness.

Winemaking: 

The harvest - slightly later than in 2018 - began on August 29th. The grapes were harvested at night and very early in the morning to preserve their aromatic richness. The limpid musts, obtained by direct pressing followed by cold settling for 48 hours, were then fermented at low temperature (12-14°C).
Bottled in December 2019. 
 
 

Tasting notes: 

This vintage offers a beautiful freshness, highlighted by red and citrus fruit aromas. 

Service & food pairing suggestions: 

Serve between 10 and 12°C, within 3 years of age.
13%
Tian of Provencal vegetables
Cod fillets and crushed tomatoes with coriander

Age of vines & yield: 

20 years on average

The 44ha of the vineyard extend on gentle slopes that give their name to the estate. “Escalion” means “slope” in provençal language.

Envoyer à un ami

appellation photo
Château Grand Escalion

Costières de Nîmes

Appellation d'origine protégée

Le rosé du Château Grand Escalion est un vin de gastronomie frais et généreux. Son assemblage de Grenache et Syrah issues de jeunes vignes et d'une parcelle plus ancienne de Syrah, permet d'allier fraîcheur et rondeur pour faire de ce rosé un grand Costières de Nîmes.

Costiere de Nimes
couleur
2019
Concentration aromatique
description_recompenses
Après un printemps très sec et des épisodes de canicule entre juin et août, la vigne s'est finalement bien adaptée en produisant des raisins petits mais parfaitement sains et gorgés d'arômes. Quelques orages bienvenus sur la fin de l'été ont permis aux baies d'arriver aux vendanges à maturité. Le millésime s'annonce de belle qualité avec des volumes inférieurs d'environ 10% par rapport à l'an dernier. 
etiquette
Costières de Nîmes
millésime
2019

Cépages: 

60% Grenache
40% Syrah

Terroir: 

Grenaches et Syrahs sont issus de terroirs principalement composés d'argile. Ces parcelles, situées directement autour du domaine, possédent les sols les plus profonds. De ce fait , les vignes s'épanouissent dans des conditions hydriques optimales, assurant des degrés moindres, de belles teintes pâles et une grande fraîcheur aromatique.

Vinification: 

Les vendanges - légèrement plus tardives qu'en 2018 - ont commencé le 29 août. Les raisins ont été vendangés la nuit et très tôt le matin pour préserver leur richesse aromatique. Les moûts limpides, obtenus par pressurage direct suivi d'un débourbage à froid de 48h, ont fermenté ensuite à basse température (12-14°C).
Mis en bouteille en décembre 2019. 
 
Vin Vegan.

Note de dégustation: 

Ce millésime présente une très belle fraîcheur, soulignée ici par des arômes de fruits rouges et d'agrumes.

Service & accords: 

A déguster entre 12 et 14°C
Degré : 13%
Accords :
Tian de légumes à la provençale
Filets de cabillaud et concassée de tomates à la coriandre

Age des vignes & rendement: 

20 ans en moyenne

Les 44 hectares du vignoble s’étendent en pentes douces. Le Château leur doit son nom car «Escalion» signifie «montée» en provençal.

Envoyer à un ami