Terroirs

“As a combination of a soil, a climate and a human expertise, the “terroir” is an essential notion on our estates and in the work we do with our wine-grower partners.

Learn about the terroirs of each appellation with these maps and geological cross-sections.”

Soleil
Vue sur le village de Lirac

Lirac

The Cru Lirac vineyards are planted on terraces and hillsides in four communes on the right bank of the Rhône, between garrigue, mistral and arid soils bathed in bright sunshine. It is growing, preserved and tranquil, off the beaten track. Blending wines from different terroirs produces the Lirac style: powerful, structured and aromatic, yet fresh and always elegant.

The maps

Lirac - aire d'appellation

Geology

Vignes - Gigondas

AOP Gigondas

The appellation is a mosaic of terroirs which draws its originality from the geological layers, altitude and particular orientation. Our plots are situated on 4 of the 5 terroirs which make up the appellation.

The maps

Geology

The grape varieties

Bourboulenc, Cinsault, Clairette, Grenache blanc, Grenache noir, Marsanne, Mourvèdre, Muscat à petits grains, Roussanne, Syrah & Viognier

See all grape varieties

Our wines

Châteauneuf du Pape AOP

AOP Châteauneuf-Du-Pape

The Châteauneuf-du-Pape appellation is the jewel in the crown of the southern Rhône Valley's winegrowing heritage, and one of France's finest crus. In the 14th century, Pope Jean XXII built a fortress at Châteauneuf and developed the famous vineyard, whose cultivation is perpetuated in the great papal tradition of the City of the Popes in Avignon. This exceptional terroir, located on the left bank of the Rhône between Avignon and Orange, is made up of vast terraces covered with red clay mixed with numerous quartz pebbles. In the heart of the southern sector, the Mediterranean microclimate is the warmest in the Côtes-du-Rhône, with 2800 h of sunshine and an average temperature of 14°C over the year. Châteauneuf-du-Pape also owes its rich aromas to the use of a large number of grape varieties, 13 in all.

Vue sur le village de Lirac

AOP Lirac

The Lirac Cru vineyards are planted on terraces and hillsides in four communes on the right bank of the Rhône, between garrigue, mistral and arid soils bathed in bright sunshine. It is growing, preserved and peaceful, off the beaten track. Blending wines from different terroirs produces the Lirac style: powerful, structured and aromatic, yet fresh and always elegant.

Cairanne - Aire d'appellation

AOP Cairanne

Sun-drenched hillsides, fragrant garrigue, a mischievous river that changes its spelling... Cairanne is a charming village, unveiling itself at the bend of a rocky outcrop and enticing visitors with its red and white wines. The assets of the appellation: a "village" spirit nurtured by generations of winegrowers who have made their wine and their trade a craft for excellence.

AOP Beaumes de Venise

AOP Beaumes de Venise

The fertile vineyards that give birth to Beaumes-de-Venise wines borrow their landscapes from Tuscany... Vines and olive trees stand side by side on a land preserved by winemakers who combine sustainable agriculture with a love of an unusual, rich and precious terroir. The name "de Venise", though rich in romantic evocations, owes nothing to the city... It's a deformation of "de Venisse", meaning "du Comtat Venaissin". Situated at the foot of the Dentelles de Montmirail, the terroir is made up of three types of soil, most notably "Trias", the exceptional soil that enables the cultivation of a specific wine.

Village - Plan de Dieu

AOP Côtes du Rhône Villages Plan de Dieu

This is a wide, uniform terroir made of alluviums deposited by the Aygues and the Ouvèze in the quaternary period and covered in limestone gravel. Good hydration of the vines is provided by a deep blue clay soil and sandstone.

Côtes du Rhône Villages AOP

AOP Côtes du Rhône Villages

In its southern part, the Côtes du Rhône Villages vineyards stretch over the terraces and alluvial plains of the Rhône, or over the slopes of various hills, at the top of which nest as many perched villages. Vines have been grown here since Roman times, and no fewer than 95 communes make up the Côtes du Rhône Villages vineyards. From the Drôme Provençale to the banks of the Durance in the east, and from the Ardèche to the Pont du Gard in the west, discover these villages perched on their promontories to unearth the finest nuggets. Depending on the nature of the soil, you'll come across a wide range of Côtes du Rhône Villages, but one thing's for sure: you'll need more than a day to tour them all!

Côtes du Rhône AOP

AOP Côtes du Rhône

Along the Rhône, the vineyards of the Côtes du Rhône appellation are spread over 171 communes and richly varied terroirs... all under the same generous sun. Take the time to explore them: they all surprise you with their diversity and the strength of their character. Among them, you'll discover nuggets that are often unsuspected.

The maps

Carte Côtes du Rhône

Geology

Our wines

Cep - Costières de Nîmes

AOP Costières de Nîmes

The Costières terroir is made of gravel deposited by the Rhône and the Durance in the quaternary period, covered in different coloured sands on a deep blue clay soil. The vines of Château Grand Escalion come from a contiguous geographical area.

The maps

Carte - Costière de Nîmes

Geology

The grape varieties

Bourboulenc, Carignan, Cinsault, Clairette, Grenache blanc, Grenache noir, Marsanne, Mourvèdre, Roussanne, Syrah & Viognier

See all grape varieties

Our wines

Tavel-aop

AOP Tavel

Tavel wines are all rosés... But what a rosé! The novelist Honoré de Balzac said that this is one of the rare rosés that can be advantageously left to age... Its wines of strong character are without equal: complex, fleshy, dense and highly aromatic.

Beaumes de venise-aop

VDN Muscat Beaumes de Venise

Northeast of Avignon, Châteauneuf-du-Pape, Vacqueyras and Gigondas set the Beaumes-de-Venise terroir against the backdrop of Mont Ventoux. The vineyards are located on the southeastern slopes of the Dentelles de Montmirail (between 100 and 600 m) in northern Vaucluse, where vines and olive trees harmoniously share the landscape. The deep, well-aired soils give Muscat its finesse, resulting in a naturally sweet wine of great elegance.

Cep - Hermitage

AOP Hermitage

Situated on a hill, the appellation consists of three parts: granite soil to the west, ideal for red wines; limestone and silica in the centre with a more fertile lower part to the east, famed for white wines.

Vignes - Côte Rôtie

AOP Côte Rôtie

Known for its impressive slopes, which sometimes have a gradient of more than 60 degrees, AOP Côte Rôtie is situated on metamorphic rock. There are three types of soil: mica schist, gneiss and migmatite.

Vignes - Condrieu

AOP Condrieu

The loamy alluviums of the Rhône cohabit here with the granite soils of the abrupt slopes where the vines are planted on "chayées" (narrow terraces) which are particularly difficult to work.

Provence - aire d'appellation

AOP Côtes de Provence

The Côtes de Provence appellation covers more than 20,000 hectares in 3 départements: Var, Bouches-du-Rhône and one commune in Alpes-Maritimes, a total of 84 communes. The terroir of the Côtes de Provence appellation is as beautiful in the vines as it is in the roots. The complex geology of the subsoil is particularly well-suited to wine.

Cotes-de-gascogne-aop

IGP Côtes de Gascogne

Since August 1, 2009, Côtes de Gascogne has been registered as a protected geographical indication. The production area is located in Gascony, the historic province of south-western France, between the Garonne river to the north, the Landes forest to the west and the Pyrenees to the south.

vin-de-France-aire d'appellation

VDF Vin de France

Vin De France is a category of its own, with a unique DNA. If the name had to be summed up in one word, it would be "freedom". Its main advantage lies not in the zone of origin, nor in the principle of strict specifications, but in the creative freedom it offers the winemaker and the winegrower. Vin De France is thus a veritable "creative playground" for these true artists, who produce harmonious wines that are easy to enjoy.

Terroirs

“Conjonction d’un sol, d’un climat et d’un savoir-faire, le terroir est une notion essentielle sur nos domaines comme dans le travail que nous réalisons avec nos partenaires vignerons.

Découvrez grâce à ces cartes et coupes géologiques les terroirs de chaque appellation.”

Soleil
Vignes - Gigondas

AOP Gigondas

L’appellation est une mosaïque de terroirs, puisant chacun son originalité dans des couches géologiques, des altitudes et des orientations particulières. Une des richesses de notre Domaine est d'avoir ses parcelles situées sur 4 des 5 grands terroirs identifiés.

Les cartes

Géologie

Les cépages

Bourboulenc, Cinsault, Clairette, Grenache blanc, Grenache noir, Marsanne, Mourvèdre, Muscat à petits grains, Roussanne, Syrah & Viognier

Voir tous les cépages

Nos vins

Châteauneuf du Pape AOP

AOP Châteauneuf-Du-Pape

L’appellation Châteauneuf-du-Pape est le fleuron du patrimoine viticole de la vallée du Rhône méridionale, et un des plus grands crus français. Au XIVe siècle, le pape Jean XXII fait construire à Châteauneuf une forteresse et y développe le célèbre vignoble, dont la culture est perpétuée dans la grande tradition papale de la Cité des Papes d’Avignon. Ce terroir exceptionnel, implanté sur la rive gauche du Rhône entre Avignon et Orange, est composé de vastes terrasses recouvertes d'argile rouge mêlée à de nombreux galets roulés de quartz. Au cœur du secteur méridional, le microclimat méditerranéen y est le plus chaud des Côtes-du-Rhône, avec 2800 h d’ensoleillement et une température moyenne de 14 °C sur l’année. Les Châteauneuf-du-Pape ont aussi bâti leur très grande richesse aromatique par l’utilisation de très nombreux cépages, 13 en tout.

Vue sur le village de Lirac

AOP Lirac

Le Cru Lirac étage ses vignes en terrasses et en coteaux sur quatre communes de la rive droite du Rhône, entre garrigue, mistral et terres arides baignées par un soleil éclatant. Il grandit, préservé et tranquille, à l’écart des sentiers battus. L’assemblage de vins issus de terroirs différents permet d’obtenir le style Lirac : puissant, structuré et aromatique, mais frais et toujours élégant.

Cairanne - Aire d'appellation

AOP Cairanne

Des coteaux ensoleillés, de la garrigue odorante, une rivière mutine qui change d’orthographe… Cairanne est un village de charme, qui se dévoile au détour d’un piton rocheux et retient les visiteurs, séduits par ses vins rouges et blancs. Les atouts de l’appellation : un esprit « village» entretenu depuis plusieurs générations de vignerons qui ont fait de leur vin et de leur métier un artisanat pour l’excellence.

AOP Beaumes de Venise

AOP Beaumes de Venise

Le vignoble fertile qui donne naissance aux vins de Beaumes-de-Venise, emprunte ses paysages à la Toscane… Vignes et oliviers s’y côtoient sur une terre préservée par des vignerons qui allient une agriculture raisonnée à l’amour d’un terroir insolite, riche et précieux. Le nom « de Venise », s’il est riche d’évocations romantiques, ne doit pourtant rien à la ville… C’est une déformation de « de Venisse », c’est-à-dire « du Comtat Venaissin ». Situé au pied des Dentelles de Montmirail, le terroir est constitué de trois types de sols et notamment, « le trias », ce sol exceptionnel qui permet la culture d’un vin spécifique.

Côtes du Rhône Villages AOP

AOP Côtes du Rhône Villages

Dans sa partie méridionale, le vignoble des Côtes du Rhône Villages s’étend sur des terrasses et des plaines alluvionnaires du Rhône ou encore sur les pentes de différentes collines au sommet desquelles se nichent autant de villages perchés. La vigne pousse ici depuis l’époque romaine et ce ne sont pas moins de 95 communes qui constituent le vignoble des Côtes du Rhône Villages. De la Drôme Provençale aux rives de la Durance à l’est et de l’Ardèche au Pont du Gard à l’ouest, partez à la découverte de ces villages juchés sur leur promontoire afin d’y dénicher les plus belles pépites. Selon la nature des sols, vous rencontrerez un large éventail de Côtes du Rhône Villages, mais une chose est sûre, il vous faudra plus d’une journée pour en faire le tour !

Côtes du Rhône AOP

AOP Côtes du Rhône

Le long du Rhône, les vignobles de l’appellation Côtes du Rhône s’épanouissent sur 171 communes et des terroirs riches et variés… sous le même soleil généreux. Prenez le temps de les explorer : tous surprennent par leur diversité et la force de leur caractère. Parmi eux, on décèle des pépites souvent insoupçonnées.

Les cartes

Carte Côtes du Rhône

Géologie

Nos vins

Beaumes de venise-aop

VDN Muscat Beaumes de Venise

Au nord-est d'Avignon, Châteauneuf-du-Pape, Vacqueyras et Gigondas servent d'écrin au terroir de Beaumes-de-Venise sur fond de mont Ventoux. Le vignoble s’étage sur le versant sud-est des Dentelles de Montmirail (entre 100 et 600 m), dans le nord du Vaucluse, là où vignes et oliviers se partagent harmonieusement le paysage. Dans les sols profonds, très aérés, le muscat puise toute sa finesse et donne naissance à un vin doux naturel de grande élégance.

pays-doc-aop

IGP Pays d'Oc

Depuis le 1er août 2009, les vins de Pays d’Oc bénéficient d’un signe officiel de qualité reconnu au niveau européen, l’Indication Géographique Protégée (IGP). Elle garantit à 100% l’origine des vins produits sous cette dénomination sur le vignoble des Pays d’Oc. Totalement en phase avec leur époque, les vins Pays d’Oc IGP fêtent trente ans de conquête au cœur du plus ancien vignoble de France, fondé au VIe siècle avant J.-C.

Cep - Hermitage

AOP Hermitage

Situé sur une colline, l’appellation est composée de trois parties : sol sur granite à l’ouest, idéal pour les rouges ; alluvions calcaires et siliceuses au centre avec une partie basse plus fertile, sables et loess à l’est, réputés pour l’élaboration des blancs.

Vignes - Côte Rôtie

AOP Côte Rôtie

Connue pour ses pentes impressionnantes, dépassant parfois les 60 degrés, l’AOP Côte Rôtie est située sur des roches métamorphiques. On y rencontre trois types de roches : micaschistes, gneiss et migmatites, formant l'essentiel des terroirs.

Vignes - Condrieu

AOP Condrieu

Les granites représentent la majorité des roches à l'origine des terroirs de cette appellation. On y trouve également des roches métamorphiques. La vigne est cultivée sur des pentes abruptes grâce à l'existence de « chayées » (terrasses étroites) particulièrement difficiles à travailler.

Vignes - Crozes Hermitage

AOP Crozes-Hermitage

Réparti sur plus de 1500ha, le vignoble s’épanouit sur des sols liés à des roches variées : granites et gneiss au nord ouest, au contact de l'Hermitage, alluvions caillouteuses siliceuses et calcaires au centre et au sud ainsi que loess, argile rouge et sable, chacun apportant sa caractéristique au cépage.

Provence - aire d'appellation

AOP Côtes de Provence

L'appellation Côtes de Provence s'étend sur plus de 20 000 hectares sur 3 départements : le Var, les Bouches-du-Rhône et une commune dans les Alpes-Maritimes qui regroupent 84 communes. Le terroir de l’appellation Côtes de Provence est aussi beau dans les vignes qu’au niveau des racines. Le sous-sol est en effet d’une géologie complexe, particulièrement propice au vin.

Cotes-de-gascogne-aop

IGP Côtes de Gascogne

Depuis le 1er août 2009, le Côtes de Gascogne a été enregistré en tant qu'indication géographique protégée. Le territoire de production se situe en Gascogne, province historique du Sud-Ouest de la France, elle-même située entre la Garonne au nord, la forêt des Landes à l’ouest et les Pyrénées au sud. Crédit photo : P.Poupart/IVSO

vin-de-France-aire d'appellation

Vin de France

Vin De France est une catégorie à part revendiquant un ADN unique. Si l’on devait résumer la dénomination en un mot, le terme consacré serait « liberté ». Son principal atout ne réside ni dans la zone d’origine ni dans le principe d’un cahier des charges strict mais dans la liberté de création qu’elle offre au winemaker et au vigneron. Vin De France constitue ainsi un véritable « terrain de jeu créatif » pour ces véritables artistes qui élaborent des vins harmonieux, faciles à apprécier.